New phone

24 03 2007

Ok, so I’ve had an LG Chocolate in black for a few months, but I’ve disliked it since about a month after I got it.
The touch sensor thing isn’t overly great (actually very annoying) and it’s shiny plastic casing is like the PSP, a smudge magnet.

I decided enough was enough and bought myself a nice new phone on Friday and my sister now has my Chocolate in place of her pink one.

As a fan of Sony Ericsson phones (I don’t know why I got a Nokia and then an LG, but I did and I was wrong), I decided that I either wanted another Walkman phone or something that wasn’t quite as garish as my W800i at least.
The thing is that I had £200 to spend on the phone and a phone I’ve always liked was in the shop at £199.99, so I decided not to get a Walkman phone and I got a Sony Ericsson K800i instead.

Since I’ve used many Sony phones, especially those aimed at the same kind of market as the K800i, I pretty much knew exactly how to use it without even thinking about it.

The cameras on it are great for a camera phone (the back camera is 3.2MPX, but there’s a tiny little video phone camera hidden away in the speaker).
Most camera phones claim to have a flash, but they actually just have a light that can be turned on and off, but this thing has a real xenon flash, Sony’s usual auto focus, red eye reduction and so on and so forth.
If you’re planning on making frequent use of the camera, you’ll be wanting some memory, which is one area that this phone lets you down.
There’s only 64MiB of free internal memory and while Sony’s M2 (Memory Stick Micro) cards are supported, giving you around 2GiB of space at maximum, no memory card is included in the package.
This isn’t surprising though considering that Sony’s flash memory formats usually result in overpriced cards, so including one would drive it up over £200.

The K800i is a 3G capable phone, meaning it’s capable of pushing and pulling more data to and from place to place, meaning there’s no reason not to include common 3G phone features.
The K800i’s seconds camera is easy to miss, but it seems to pick up a decent enough image on my end (I don’t know anyone with a 3G phone and my 3G Nokia only has one camera).
Because mine is on O2, I haven’t played around much with the 3G stuff as I’m more used to using 3’s 3G services and I don’t know if the phone is locked to only work on O2 (not really a problem as they can be unlocked).
Another neat little feature to make use of this extra connectivity is the ability to upload images taken with the camera straight from the phone to the web using the “Blog this” feature of the camera mode.

In the box (which wasn’t as nice as the LG Chocolate box or the SE W800i display case as it was a normal O2 repackaging jobbie) there was:

  1. Phone
  2. Manuals
  3. Charger
  4. Software
  5. USB to phone cable
  6. Hands free kit \ headphones
  7. Wrist strap

The charger is designed so that you can plug in the headphones while the phone is charging by plugging them into the connector for the charger (so it’s headphones into charger into phone).
That might seem a little odd and possibly a little silly, but it’s partly so you can listen to music on the phone while it’s charging and also because the headphones contain the areal for the built in FM radio, which can be used in place of a tone or song if you set the phone as an alarm clock.

All the usual SE software is on the phone such as games and the various DJ apps for messing with video, audio and photo’s, but there’s also some HP photo software on it (I got rid of it on my last pre-built system, so why would I want it here) and an app called Facewarp, which takes an image, scans it for faces and then allows you to apply different warping styles, kind of like magic mirrors at the circus :/

All in all, it’s a brilliant phone for me and the whole camera thing will come in handy on my holiday in May.


Actions

Information

One response

25 04 2007
Alex

Thank You

Leave a comment